National Council For Transgender Persons Constituted By Central Government

The Central Government has constituted a National Council for Transgender Person by exercising the power conferred by Section 16 of the Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Act, 2019. The National Council will consist of Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and other members. The Chairperson will be the ex-officio Union Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment. The Vice-Chairperson will be ex-officio Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment.

The other members of the Council are representatives of various Ministries, State Government and UT’s, Secretary and Joint Secretary of Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, five experts and representatives from Transgender Community and NGO’s working for the welfare of transgender persons, and representatives of National Human Rights Commission and National Commission for Women.

The functions of the Council are stated in Section 17 of the Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Act, 2019. It includes advising, monitoring, and evaluating the Central Government on policies, programs, legislation, and projects with respect to transgender persons. It also includes reviewing and coordinating the activities of all the departments of government with matters related to transgender persons. Further, the Council also aims to redress the grievances of the transgender persons.